City Driving Lessons


I just claimed my Driving Lessons Certificate from City Driving School last week.

DSC05503

The lessons did not come as a walk in the park for me. It was not even my first driving lesson. But at least the driving instructors cannot give up on me. They were paid by me through the driving school.

Mine is an interesting driving history. I’ve had several informal driving lessons for decades.

1. First from my uncle who was so kind and considerate I never heard a sigh of resignation from him.

2. Second from our working student, who was also kind however the lessons we’re rough. It was indeed rough we round the lot near the public cemetery under a vegetation of coconut trees.

3. Third from my brother, who always had alibis that I have to bribe him with money. He was so impatient he had to be mean and angry all the time. I gave up after one day.

4. Fourth from a family friend who was patient since he had no choice. He was paid by my mom more than his daily income to teach me to drive. It was fun driving from our town to the barrio and to our farm where the road was unforgiveable. Just like any other driving instructor I’ve had had he did not really have to give me up. He had to settle for his cousin who died the afternoon we were doing the driving rounds in the barrio. That was the end of my driving practice. I never attained sufficient skill to drive much more get a driver’s license.

Until this year, when I am more mature and a driver’s license is perceived as very necessary. I took another leap of faith in getting my driver’s license. Here’s the journey.

1. I secured for the nth time a student’s drivers permit. To be able to get this, I prepared  the following:

  • Money. I prepared about P500.00 but I paid the exact amount of P317.63. With the exact breakdown of: P100.00 – application fee. P 150.00 – student’s permit fee. P 67.63 – computer fee.
  • Two valid ID’s. I brought original copies and photocopies of my  TIN card, Employment ID, Passport and GSIS. Actually only two are necessary but i had them just in case.
  • Land Transportation Office. I headed to the Land and Transportation Office in Baguio City. They have a relatively systematic system in the filing of student permits and drivers license. It took about an hour for me since there were already people lining up for their liceses.

2. Since I could not learn by any means driving through informal lessons, I enrolled in a certified driving school. There may be a number in your area. Check them out. In Baguio City, I choose City Driving School for several reasons. Their office is accessible. It is just right in the heart of Upper Session Road near KFC. Second, the fee is affordable. I paid P2,300.00 for ten hours of driving lessons. This also comes with a free seminar for half a day with free snacks. It was a big-time bonus, the snacks.

DSC05504

3. The practical driving lessons commenced with a practical lesson on the parts of the machine. I learned something about blow-ffatch. It means battery, oil, water, fuel, air, temperature and whatever. The lessons were conducted around South Drive in between 15 mins breaks by the driver. So you compute. Ten hours driving lessons for two hours per day on any day of your choice less 15 mins and less another 15 mins trip from the school to the driving venue. That is only about seven hours and a half of real driving. Anyway, I got free snacks and a free seminar and the best thing is that the driver instructors can not give up on me. It was however obvious that I’ve had different instructors everyday but at least I still have somebody to teach me.

4. The seminar which consists of  Defensive Driving and Basic Automotive is conducted every first Saturday of the month. There was a lot to learn. How to park a car in a slope, causes of accidents, what to do during emergency, and how to get away from the police in the most unlikely of a situation. The basic automative however was nosebleed. I realized that the machine could be so complicated and vulnerable that we should be scared of driving much more commuting on them. I only have to show you the pictures. I can’t make sense out of it. Try to understand them for me.

DSC05340DSC05345

5. My next goal is to finally apply for my real driver’s license. I don’t know when and where. It can be here in Baguio  or in Iligan City. Here in Baguio the test will involve going around Session Road. I don’t think I will ever dare to be caught in the traffic in a sloping Session Road. Maybe Iligan City where I was born is easier. There is no Session Road that I would have to conquer.

I’ll keep you posted on this adventure. I’m excited to get my driver’s license soon.

76 thoughts on “City Driving Lessons

    • Miah,

      Thanks for the comment and query.

      City Driving has no website but you can contact them at (074) 304 6792. They have two branches.
      1. Rm 203, Gamboa Building
      Session Rd, Baguio City (above KFC)

      2. Rm 309, C&A Park Manor Bldg
      Km5, Balili, La Trinidad, Benguet

      • hello i am new to this site. Actually im from baguio but currently working abroad. Im planning to go home for vacation in baguio on march this year. Im so interested to learn how to drive, perhaps one of you can help me or suggest any DRIVING SCHOOL who can help me as well. Thank you very much! MATAGO TAGO TAKO AM-IN!

        NICK

  1. I enrolled in City Driving too November last year…. The manager is accomodating and humble.
    Aside from enjoying my driving lessons, I was really entertained by the driving instructors. There’s this particular instructor who was quite new and highly demanded who is REALLY VERY PATIENT, COOL and EXCELLENT IN ASSISTING ….

  2. Kalyani,
    hello…I’m currently enrolled at city driving school… may I know the name of this driving instructor you’re telling?the cool, patient and who assisted you excellently?

  3. cor,

    hello… I’m currently enrolled at city driving school…yes, its fun and i am learning a lot. its worth paying for… and the manager is worth accommodating too. but you know what? the manager now is sick.He’s confined at a hospital in manila for almost 2 months now.so lets pray for him that he’ll someday get well.its a big lost without this manager……

  4. hey i would really want to enroll in a driving school here in baguio since my dad is always busy to give me a driving lesson.

    what if im only 17? is it okey?
    how much is the total amount of the payment?
    and do they need requirement before they can teach you? tnx

  5. xander,

    secure a student’s permit first in LTO Baguio. The LTO will determine the age limit. I don’t know what’s their rule on this. you can visit LTO’s website. prepare you documents i wrote above before going there.

    the 10 hour driving lessons costs only 2,300.00 visit their office.

    happy driving.

  6. its a great experience to be enrolled at city driving bukod sa mabait ang management pati instructors… unfortunately want to learn to change tires di nangyari sayang bitin din 10 hrs.. hope next time automatic naman…

  7. hello….16 years old can now be given students permit.once i was a student too here in city driving school….it was really fun and we, my friends, learned a lot.the manager now is feeling so far so good. but he is still in and out of the hospital. lets pray for him he’s a cool and smart guy.very humble too…office is still the same, above kfc upper session…they are all very accommodating. happy driving my dear classmates….

  8. i’m interested into driving lesson. and i’m 16 y/o only however i wanted to do so. but then i’ve seen that for 10 hrs. its worth 2,300 .. what if i’ll make it as a partime only because i’m studying and i need to fix my schedule .. is it possible? i’m looking forward for your response ms. pinay. tnx so much!

    • hi cristy,

      You need to secure a student’s permit first at LTO. Bring the documents i enumerated above. They will determine their age limit. You may also visit the site at LTO before going there.

      As soon as you secure your SP, you can visit City Driving Office. They are flexible, they can fix your schedule if you want it part-time.

  9. hi cherry,

    its 2,300Php for ten sessions but you better visit or call their office first in case the rates have changed.
    City Driving has no website but you can contact them at (074) 304 6792. They have two branches.
    1. Rm 203, Gamboa Building
    Session Rd, Baguio City (above KFC)

    2. Rm 309, C&A Park Manor Bldg
    Km5, Balili, La Trinidad, Benguet

    Thanks for dropping by my blog. have fun driving.

  10. hi..thanks for posting this..i was looking kasi for a driving school here in Baguio..and thanks for the infos like their office number and where their office is located..i’ll try to visit them pag may free time ako after our midterm exams..thank you so much for posting this blog.. :)

  11. i would like to give my condolences to sir cara whos so kind to the students just like me before …. he is kind…. approachable I thank you sir for being nice even for a short period of time as a student … thanks and we will never forget you sir….

  12. to all city driving student;
    thank you for all your comments, and prayers…
    my dad “sir rey” has passed away last october 8

  13. Hi everyone! Thanks for dropping by my blog. Its been so long. I have not had visited this site. Our mentor sir cara has joined his maker. but he has left us a legacy . Happy Driving.

  14. City Driving school is just above KFC upper session road. The entrance door is can be found between 7-eleven and KFC. Madali na lang hanapin yun..

  15. you need to have a student’s drivers license. and prepare an amount of about 2,300 for the seminar and practical lessons. although im not sure if the same amount still holds true it was about a year ago.
    enjoy driving.

  16. just to update everybody on driving lessons fees. I’ve just been to their office yesterday for registration.
    3,000 for 12 hrs
    2,500 for 10 hrs
    They also offer refresher courses.
    All you need is to secure a student license which will take about an hour at the LTO and costs 317.63 as of date.

  17. ang sagwa naman dito..unahan na ngayon.. kasi ako nag enroll eh ndi nila inaaccomodate kaagad ako.. naka schedule ako for 5 consecutive days..pero sa first 2 days ko eh ndi ako nakapagdriving lesson dahil naunahan ako nung isang tao rin na naka sched for the same time and same day.. dahil sa bwisit ko ipinarefund ko.. sa pag rerefund pa eh depende daw muna sa owner dapat nasa office ung owner nila para irefund.. kaya balik ako bukas para marefund ung pera ko..

  18. ndi inapprove ung refund ko!! ayaw daw ng boss nila.. pano ka naman ndi magrerefund kung ndi ka naman kasi asikasuhin para turuan..lagi nlng napopostpone ang schedule mo.. bale as of now eh tatpusin ko na lang ung oras ko. swerte mo kung maganda ung sasakyan na maipupunta sayo. meron kasi silang mga sasakyan na ndi man lang power steering, magkakaroon ka ng muscles dahil dun.

  19. hindi ko tinapos ung 10 hours ko. kasi sabi ng mga instructors eh ndi na daw kailangang tapusin pa. Sabi na lang nila irerefund ung 5 hours ko.. manual pala ung inenroll ko..

  20. ang tagal pa makuha ung refund na un..pabalik balik ako dun tapos ung babae eh sabi wala pa daw mga ganun ganun na rason kasi wala pa daw ung boss.. mga 2-3 weeks ata ako nagpabalik balik para lang makuha ung refund ko na un eh… naaaksaya oras ko dun..

  21. Contact Number posted by Cherry is an invalid number. U sure this is a number in Baguio City? Obviously its not coz I wasn’t able to contact it.

  22. I was able to contact this number naman 304 6792, session branch. I’ll visit the office within the week. Thank you for this blog. Meron din palang mas murang driving school. A1 so expensive….

  23. Hello!

    Nice blog! its so informative… I’ll just ask if I need to reserve a spot for the lesson, kc Im from the overseas, plus one month lng bakasyon ko diyan, ayoko nmn na masayang lng dahil sa mga postponed na sessions..

    and, i have a Philippine license, so I don’t need the student permit right?
    What are the other requirements pala?

    Thanks in advance!

  24. …just done with my very first driving lesson with city driving…i learned the basic…it was cool!!
    …i’m just waiting for my student permit to become 32days old so i could apply for a non-prof license…

  25. Hi Ervin.
    I only had 2 weeks holiday when I enrolled for the driving lessons and started lessons after securing just a student permit which i got the same day.
    Very friendly instructors as well.

    It was rather unfortunate for Ryter to have a bad experience with City Driving.

  26. wow ganda naman ng driving school na to may seminars pa with free snack sayang jan sana ako nagenroll sa city driving school at yung iba na gustong mageroll sorry to say the name of the agency citypines driving school..sa 1st day pa lang pambwisit na eh sabi 1hr tapos ibabawas yung travel time na 15mins so 45mins lang actual tutorials per session pero 1st day pa lang mababanas ka na wala pang 30mins yung lecture tapos na at pauuwiin ka na sasabihin sayo 1st day pa lang naman eh dibale sa susunod panay driving lesson na..and since from the beggining ng actual driving mga 30mins lang talaga ang driving lesson at after ng mga 3 sessions ko sira sira na sched ko pasok sila ng pasok ng new clients isisiksik sa sched ng ibang student at hindi ka pa nila tatawagan or ittxt hihintayin ka pang pumunta sa office at makikiusap kung pwede bukas ka nalang magdriving isingit muna natin si ganito ngayon lang naman pero hanggang sa natapos driving lesson ko sa kanila hindi talaga naging maayos ang sched ko at wala kang maririnig na sorry from the manager kasi hindi maayos ang sched mo magsmile pa sya sayo sobrang nakakaloko..and just to add regarding the random instructors from citypines iisa lang ata ang friendly na habang nagddrive ka panay lecture marami kang matututunan sa kanya from driving the rest parang pinapakita nila na hindi sila masaya sa work nila basta magdrive ka bahala ka sa buhay mo tsaka ka lang papansinin kung alanganin na pagddrive mo..pasalamat lang ako natuto ako magdrive yun lang yun but i still want to enroll at city driving kahit for refresher nalang..

  27. additional info:sa mga students po na tapos ng magdrive kahit anong year man kau natapos, you can attend the seminar for free still.conducted every 1st saturday of the month.from 8am to 12noon.para sa inyo tong seminar na to.DEFENSIVE DRIVING SEMINAR…para maging safe kayo lagi sa pagdrive…
    Thank you and have a defensive driving always…Godbless

  28. PAANO naman ang katulad kung 40 years na no read no write, puede ba akong mag aral kasi onemnth lng vacationko,

  29. hello nag inquire ako sa city driving last week to ung info:
    Manual cars:
    12 hours hands-on session: 3,000
    10hours hands-on session: 2,500
    model cars- additional 1,000

    refresher:
    7 hours hands on session: 1,850
    5 hours hands on session: 1,400

    Automatic cars:
    6 hours hands on session: 4, 500
    4 hours hands on session: 3,000

    Requirements nila: Student license
    room 203 gamboa building upper session road: tabi lng ng kfc…

  30. It seems like a totally different school now. :( My sister enrolled in City Driving a few years back and she learned a lot. I even sat in on one of her classes and the teacher even let her drive all the way to Kias. The instructor was very kind too. I was enrolled in another driving school then but I wasn’t learning anything.

    I just enrolled in City Driving a week ago because I really have to learn how to drive now (all the drivers are gone in my family). I opted for this school because of what I saw before, and because of the reviews in the net such as this, too. I just took the refresher course since I learned how to drive a little during the time I spent since my last driving lesson. The first day sure was an unpleasant surprise.

    From the start of the class, the instructor already showed signs that he was annoyed with me. I guess he didn’t like something about the fact that I just enrolled a refresher course. He was so sarcastic and abrasive during the first few minutes, I almost snapped at him. He eventually calmed down but for the next hour and a half, he was consistently texting. I know he was. I have a very queer talent of being able to read what’s in a cellphone screen even if the person is just in my peripheral vision. Two hours passed, and the first lesson was over. I went to he office to request a different teacher the next time I drove. The owner was there and he was very accommodating. He listened fairly well to my observations and was very professional. Then came my next lesson, two days later. It was supposed to be a 3 hour session.

    WTH. It turned out worse than the first. I had a fault in the fact that I didn’t have my yellow form with me, but the lesson started nonetheless. I guess the fact that I complained to the owner reached the instructors. This next one was not just abrasive and sarcastic. He was downright aggressive, Talk about being snide. He was making a bunch of side comments every time I made a mistake and midway through the first hour, he kept bugging me about whether I am supposed to be his student at that time. He eventually showed me a text message from what he says was their secretary saying that my name was not on their list for the day.

    I just told him I’ll stop by my place so I can get the yellow form I forgot. Luckily my place was near, so we stopped near the gate (I was staying in a condominium nearby). I wanted to take the car inside the building so that I will be able to get the form easier, but he was adamant that I should just walk the extra hundred plus meters to get it, instead of just driving a little more. I was quite tired by then because of a very long night so I was insisting. He then told me in Tagalog “niloloko mo naman yata ako” without any humor at all. This was the end of my rope. I enrolled in a school to learn, not to get insulted and shown that I can’t drive properly every 30 seconds. I paid in full for every minute of that course, and being at the receiving end of those words and actions are definitely not worth the price I paid.

    I eventually just walked u to my place and delivered the yellow form to him, showing him that I really am supposed to be studying at that time. He told me to just go to the office and reschedule, since there’s another student waiting for him already. By this time, I was just indifferent and laughing at the ridiculousness of it all. Now I have to reschedule? And what, go back to that type of instruction again? No thanks. I think I’ve had enough.

    I know that City Driving is among the cheapest driving schools in the city, and from what I saw before, it was the one which is definitely most worth it. Now however, it definitely is not. I guess it’s just the instructors who really make a driving school. I didn’t see any of the old ones there anymore. My sister’s instructor was absent, if any.

    I really just hope that they eventually fix this issue. It really sucks being on the receiving end of what I got.

    • walang kwenta talaga nga instructor dyan…ung 3 hrs mo s isang araw parang 2 hrs lang magagamit mo..kc makatatlong ikot k lang s outlook drive,hinto sila s tindahan para mag yosi tapos kentuhan s mga kasamang instructor…

  31. sabi nga nila you can’t please everybody. to P.D.J., i just hope and pray na hindi mo gagawin sa ibang institution ung ginawa mo sa mga instructors mo and even to the management… Godbless

    • I actually experienced the same thing. There were different instructors and all of them were a bit mean. I wasn’t that hard to teach. Well, maybe they’re just too tired and you can see that they obviously do not enjoy their job. My friends are also planning to enroll in a driving school and I would definitely not recommend this school. I am going to study driving again since I didn’t learn a lot from them. They might have new instructors now but I think it’s best not to take a risk and enroll in a different driving school like A1.

      • tama po yan mam…s a1 medyo mahal pero matututu ka talaga…dati rin ako nag aral s city driving..pero halos wala ako natutuhan…

  32. I just finished my driving lesson in city driving school….quite cool,my evaluator said I dont need to get additional hours kc kaya ko na but the truth I owe it from them..ang gagaling nila…super worth it…they complete my 2 weeks vacation as an OFW…and to my instructor Goryo na ayaw tumanggap ng cash as an appreciation fee….saludo ako sa u kabayan…thanks talaga sa knowledge..God bless:-)_

    • Hello M. JANE, js want to ask, how is ur exprience sa City driving school? I am also a OFW, and plano ko ring mag enroll by march this year. Actually never had experience in driving. Pwedeng malaman ang prices nla or tuition fees. Thank you very much.

      My name is Nick..

  33. and to be fair regarding the negative comments and bad service about the city driving…..wala po akong masabi sa service…very accomodating po cla at d ako nagkaproblema sa schedules…they are all professionals but everybody is entitled to his own opinion so i respect that too….keep up the good work CITY DRIVING:-)

  34. I have enrolled in City Driving School last year and I am satisfied with their service napacomment tuloy ako in defense of the school.

    I wonder what happened to you, P.D.J. Perhaps, you were referring to a different driving school, or maybe you should have enrolled the regular course and not the refresher course since it appears you are not yet familiar with driving based on your comment, or maybe the problem is in the way you deal with your instructors, or with other people in general. Respect begets respect.

    Oo nga pala may free seminar sila on defensive driving every 1st saturday of the month. Thanks for the info. I think I will attend if andito pa ako sa Baguio next month. :)

  35. Enrolled to City Driving School the other day. And just had a really bad experience with one rude instructor. >:( decided to have a refund agad agad & enrolled to A1.

  36. hello i am new to this site. Actually im from baguio but currently working abroad. Im planning to go home for vacation in baguio on march this year. Im so interested to learn how to drive, perhaps one of you can help me or suggest any DRIVING SCHOOL who can help me as well. Thank you very much! MATAGO TAGO TAKO AM-IN!

    NICK

Leave a Reply

